A little more…Grrrrrr….to 12/10 score

OH, sweet revenge!!!

So, this has been happening for as long, as far I can remember; did it bother me? Of course!!! How would you feel if your Dad kept telling you at every exam result of yours “if you had done a little more” and this statement is more often than not accompanied with him holding the forefinger with the thumb placed at the half inch position. Unlike most people my age, my goal in life was to beat this finger and finally when I got to do it, it was the sweetest moment of my life! And then my girlfriend went ahead and made the moment epic by almost losing her head over what had transpired…. best moment ever!!!

So, growing up, our parents always enforced hard work, dedication, focus and as is done in a normal household’s positive reinforcements, in shape of rewards, to ensure we always did our best when it came to education and school work. These steps enforced by my parents, especially my Dad [an education fanatic, for whom a single degree is so not enough] made me a confident person who could boldly go up to him and tell him I got a zero in a test or have failed my 8th grade home economics midterm [honestly no surprises there]. However, he took the enforced “hard working and give it your best” slogan a bit further. Meaning, my earliest memory is that I got a pretty decent score at a hard exam and his response was good job, followed by him holding the forefinger with the thumb placed at the half inch position and stating if you had invested this much more effort, the result would be even better. The age I was in, it didn’t bother me exactly but it did sting a bit. And this tradition has followed through high school, college, university and continues to-date, even when I am by currents standards a professional!

Here’s the thing; this finger-thumb gesture used to motivate me in the beginning, rub me the wrong way in college and eventually I resigned to it because it was my Dad’s way of just telling me I had potential for more. Now, who can stay angry at such sentiment; not me apparently. But over the years it did fuel my desire to have a show down with my Dad like any teenager and then as a young individual.

And then came a glorious time when I stated “Ha! This time you can’t say I could have done a little more” followed by the finger-thumb gesture in my mind. It was a warm September, when I finally got my chance. I got result of my 2nd sessional of one of the toughest and abstract courses and I had scored 12/10. Yeah thats right; it was a relative grading system. I was so happy when I was calling my Dad and after I delivered the news I stated “Now tell me I could have tried a bit more”! My Dad, never to back down from his principles, promptly asked me how was my score relative to the other students scored and what was my position from the top, Gahhhhh !!!. Seriously the man would not let me have my moment! Luckily for me, I had topped that test and I very gleefully stated that information to my father. I must say the phone call lead to a glacier sized cold satisfaction in my heart that I cherished and would continue to treasure for the rest of my life.

The story just doesn’t end here; this incident was followed by more happy news [for me of course] when the same news lead to an almost spontaneous combustion with a side of dramatic head explosion, a consequence of the supposed incredulity of the news. I am very close to my girlfriends and when I was starting a new phase of my life, it was a habit to share every teensy-weensy news with my group. So, I told Zinovia that I scored 12/10 and boy did she lose it! The usually rational, super realistic, and extremely grounded girl blew the lid off her head! Now recalling, she actually had trouble talking because she was trying to incorporate sentiments like Aala have lost your head; what the hell; and other choice words about the demented school system I was in, to the sentimental favorite, “you are crazy dude!!!” If I were to ever write my official memoirs, that conversation and its follow-ups through the years will be in the top ten moments of my life. It was that good! Having almost graduated from a relative grading system, she still can’t swallow my personal best of 12/10 and continues to get infuriated upon mentioning of the said incident. Sweet times!! 🙂 !!

The information provided in this story is 
honest, Truth nothing but the truth and the writer commits that she totally believes in concepts like “revenge”, “intentionally provoking best friend, leading to her going nuts”
Leave a Reply

